Vote Upstate for A-Sun Preseason Women’s Basketball Fan Polls

Vote Upstate for A-Sun Preseason Women’s Basketball Fan Polls

Contact: Katie Parker,

A-Sun Release

MACON, Ga. – The Atlantic Sun Conference wants to hear from the fans for the 2012-13 Preseason Women's Basketball Awards and USC Upstate senior Tee'Ara Copney (Asheville, N.C.) is on the ballot.

Voting will take place on the A-Sun Facebook Page, so cast your vote today for the Spartans. Copney earned All-Conference First Team honors last season, averaging 15.7 points per game and ranking third in the A-Sun in scoring average. She posted 24 double-digit scoring contests and had seven games recording 20-plus points.  

She joined the 1,000th point club last year, reaching the career milestone in the Hodge Center Jan. 7 against Kennesaw State. The senior ranks ninth all-time at Upstate and second in the program's Division-I era with 1,244 career-points.

During the 2012-13 campaign, Copney led the league in free throw percentage with an 88.6 mark, ranking 13th in the nation. The 88.6 free throw percentage tops the single-season list in the Upstate record books. She helped the Spartans to an A-Sun best 76.7 team percentage at the line to claim 11th in the NCAA statistical rankings.  

The fans can vote for the Preseason Player of the Year and the 2012-13 A-Sun Regular Season Champion. The conference took the top vote getters from the A-Sun Coaches' Preseason Ballots and put the decision up to the fans. The deadline to vote is Thursday, Oct. 18 at 1 p.m. The winners of the Facebook fan polls will be announced in the A-Sun's Preseason All-Conference Release later that afternoon.   

Preseason Poll Voting | Preseason Player of the Year Voting

Preseason Player of the Year Nominees:
• Destiny Mitchell, ETSU
• Sarah Hansen, FGCU
• Jade Cargill, Jacksonville
• Kristina Wells, Kennesaw State 
• Ry'van Buchanan, Mercer
Tee'Ara Copney, USC Upstate
• Victoria McGowan, Stetson

Follow Upstate women's basketball this season on your mobile device, Facebook, Twitter and YouTube.